Judges of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine presented a lecture on the use of assistive technologies in judiciary

Версія для друку

February 13, 2024


Today, on February 13, judges of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine Oksana Hryshchuk, Galyna Yurovska and Viktor Gorodovenko, who is the representative of Ukraine in the Consultative Council of European Judges (CCJE), presented a lecture for judges of regional local general courts and their assistants, who are studying at the National School of Judges of Ukraine.

The main focus was on the key aspects of Opinion No. 26 “Moving forward: the use of assistive technology in the judiciary”, adopted on December 1, 2023 by the Consultative Council of European Judges.

During their speeches, the judges of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine drew the attendees’ attention to the peculiarities of the assistive technologies use in the Ukrainian judiciary in the context of this Opinion.

They talked, in particular, about the use of electronic data processing tools in case administration and management; advantages of electronic submission of documents and court proceedings; on the use of a tracking and case management system, which facilitates effective scheduling of hearings, provides faster access to information on the status and state of deliberation of separate proceedings. Specifically, CCU judges drew attention to the advantages and risks of holding hybrid or remote court hearings.

The judges also emphasised the main aspects of the Regulation on the procedure of separate subsystems (modules) functioning of the Unified Judicial Information and Telecommunication System. In particular, information was provided on the use of subsystems such as “Electronic cabinet”, “Electronic court” and video conferencing.

At the end, the judges of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine expressed the hope that the provided information will be useful for the participants of the event during their administration of justice.




Developed with the support of OSCE Project Co-ordinator in Ukraine
© 2024 Constitutional Court of Ukraine