Serhiy Holovaty Was Elected a Member of the Bureau of the Venice Commission

Версія для друку


Today, December 11, at the 129th plenary session of the Venice Commission, Deputy Chairman of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine Serhiy Holovaty was elected a member of the Bureau of the Commission, which is its main governing body.

According to the Statute of the Venice Commission, the Bureau consists of seven members: the President, three Vice-Presidents and four other members of the Commission.

The current composition of the Bureau of the Venice Commission is as follows: The President is a representative from France; three Vice-Presidents - representatives from Iceland, Malta and Germany; four other members of the Commission are representatives from Bulgaria, the United States, Switzerland and Ukraine.

For reference: The European Commission for Democracy through Law, known as the Venice Commission, was founded in 1990 after the fall of the Berlin Wall as an instrument of emergency assistance in constitutional building during democratic development. Over time, it has become a world-renowned independent international forum that promotes the European constitutional heritage, based on a triad of common values ​​across Europe: true democracy, human rights and the rule of law. Currently, the member states of the Venice Commission are all 47 member states of the Council of Europe, as well as 15 other states in Asia, Africa, America (including the United States, Canada, the Republic of Korea, Israel, Brazil, Mexico, etc.). Thus, the Commission has 62 Member States.



Developed with the support of OSCE Project Co-ordinator in Ukraine
© 2022 Constitutional Court of Ukraine